Youth Without Youth | Metric Releases Single + Talks More on Synthetica

Emily Haines on how she met Lou Reed:
“I met him at this Neil Young tribute, I got introduced to him and I’d assumed he wouldn’t know who I was, but when we met he quoted some of my lyrics from ‘Gimme Sympathy’ so that was amazing. Then he invited me to Australia for this show and we did a couple of songs together.”

On the song they recorded together:
“We had this bit in ‘The Wanderlust’ which needed a back-up and I thought he’d be perfect, so I called him up and he said yes right away. He’s one of the finest songwriters ever and to have him on our record is a huge honour.” 

More On Synthetica:
“We didn’t much pressure on ourselves early on, we just let things come out and after a while it became pretty obvious what the strongest songs were. We had between 15 and 20 tracks and we went through them very democratically. At this stage in our careers, there’s no real problem with egos, we’re all quite good at letting things go.”


Leave a Reply

